![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Case Play 7.3.5 Situation F: With R1 on third, one out and two strikes on B3, B3 swings at and misses the pitch. The ball bounces off F2’s glove into the air, where it is hit by B3’s follow-through. The ball rolls to the back stop. B3 reaches first base safely and R1 scores. Ruling: The ball is dead immediately. B3 is out for interference and R1 returns to third base. A batter is entitled to an uninterrupted opportunity to hit the ball, just as the catcher is entitled to an uninterrupted opportunity to field the ball. Once the batter swings, he is responsible for his follow-through. I had always thought once F2 didn't catch it cleanly, the batter shouldn't be penalized for it -- I had to read this case play several times b/c it didn't "feel" right..I guess not a huge deal b/c the odds of it happening probably are negligible...I'll enforce it, but I'll also give the coach a little more leeway when "discussing" it! |
|
|||
|
Little League Bob
Quote:
From the Jaksa/Roder manual (page 96): Example 8: R2, 2 strikes on batter. Batter swings at pitch in the dirt, ball is blocked into the air by the catcher. Batter's backswing contacts ball and knocks it several feet away. Ruling: Batter is out, runner returns to second. This is a clear OBR reference, so how is there a "FED difference?" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I agree with the others that (a) the ruling has been in FED "forever", and (b) it's different from OBR. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I hadn't focused on the 3rd K aspect until now - thanks for the J/R example showing the similarity b/t FED & OBR in this case. I zoned in on the part that stated F2 "is entitled to an uninterrupted opportunity to field the ball. Once the batter swings, he is responsible for his follow-through." -- it seemed illogical that the batter should be penalized w/an out b/c of F2's inability to catch the ball -- how is the batter supposed to guess where the ball might end up and avoid it?? {rhetorical question}. My BRD is at home - I'll check it tonight and post any clarification/correction it may have...thanks! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
In all codes, if B1 hits F2's mitt on the (true) backswing (i.e., when getting the bat in a position to swing), then kill the play. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Follow up on ump hit by the bat | fonzzy07 | Baseball | 9 | Wed May 10, 2006 04:17pm |
| OBS follow-up | SC Ump | Softball | 6 | Wed Mar 22, 2006 06:09pm |
| Line in the Sand - Follow/up | brumey1107 | Baseball | 1 | Mon May 17, 2004 04:53pm |
| USBL follow-up | ChuckElias | Basketball | 3 | Wed Mar 13, 2002 11:24pm |
| Follow the rulebook or make it right? | Rookieref | Basketball | 7 | Sat Feb 12, 2000 03:16pm |