The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 16, 2007, 08:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
I agree this must simply be an error on the exam. That's a classic "trick" question on OBR-based exams, because not many remember the "on either team" reference with respect to the "pitch, play or attempted play" requirement. I don't know NCAA rules well, but that phrase "on either team" is right there in the rule you quoted, so the only logical conclusion is that the test is in error.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Maybe I mis-read the question, but aren't the players here warming up between innings? As I read the situation: no pitch, play or attempted play has been made by either team. The action of the illegal batter has not been made legal yet.

So, why uphold the appeal? Because it effects the batting order. B4 is called out for the third out and B5 becomes the legal batter and leads off.

Was this too easy or am I missing something obvious?
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Was this too easy or am I missing something obvious?

The latter. There was a pitch to the other team. Therefore, the appeal was not proper. It was not made "before a pitch to the next batter of either team."

Save your copy of the test, ctblu40, preferably sealed in acid-free plastic. It may well contain the first known example of an error on a rules test.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
As I read the question again, I noticed that the question referenced a complete half inning had passed. A trick question.....shame..shame....
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.

Last edited by RPatrino; Wed Jan 17, 2007 at 12:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPatrino
As I read the question again, I noticed that the question referenced a complete half inning had passed. A trick question.....shame..shame....
That's why I'm confused. The Batting out of order happened when B5 bats in place of B4. He grounds out and thus ends the top of the sixth. The question then states that "The bottom of the sixth inning is then completed. While the home team is warming up and before the start of the top of the next inning, the home team coach appeals that B5 batted out of turn."

So a whole half inning is completed. How do you as the UIC allow the coach to appeal this?

If this situation happened to me, I would not allow the appeal, but if the coach wants to protest the game, I would note it and make sure the official scorer is aware of the protest and continue the game.

I don't have the 2007 NCAA book yet, was there a change to the appeal rule?
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Maybe there's a further trick to this question. All it says is, "The bottom of the sixth inning is then completed." But it doesn't stipulate how.

Perhaps no pitch was thrown in the bottom of the inning. Maybe all three outs resulted from batters who refused to enter the batter's box.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 17, 2007, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
Maybe there's a further trick to this question. All it says is, "The bottom of the sixth inning is then completed." But it doesn't stipulate how.

Perhaps no pitch was thrown in the bottom of the inning. Maybe all three outs resulted from batters who refused to enter the batter's box.
I guess that's a possibility but...

What exactly is the test writer trying to test here? If he's testing my ability to rule on baseball situations, he has lost.
If he's testing my ability to think outside the box, I suppose he has won.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batting out of order Hoosier_Dave Softball 10 Fri Jul 14, 2006 03:28pm
Batting out of order. Illini_Ref Baseball 6 Mon May 10, 2004 11:02pm
Batting out of order WinterWillie Softball 4 Mon May 10, 2004 09:28pm
batting out of order klp3515 Baseball 5 Wed May 07, 2003 12:34pm
Batting out of order Bdogg Softball 3 Mon Apr 28, 2003 10:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1