The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 27, 2006, 12:56am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG
The first edition of J/R was printed in 1990. JR was shot in 1980.
Yes, I realize this. I was joking. It just seems that out of date.

This is what my 1993 version says:

4. A runner (including the B/R) awarded a base due to a base on balls or detached gear (live ball awards) cannot be tagged out unless such runner passes his awarded base.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 27, 2006, 02:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
Steve,
I can't resist pointing out that your quote from the 1993 J/R is entirely true and correct. It is what is meant by being awarded a base without liability to be put out. Perhaps there is some additional verbiage to justify the notion that the converse statement is true, even for B/R?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 27, 2006, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Hey,

The Honorable Dave Reed noted:

"And as far as "own spin" goes, I only know of two situations in which J/R deviates from the rules as expiated in the the PBUC manual and the MLBUM. These involve the possibility of catching bounced pitch for a third strike . . . "

Roder has changed his interpretation of the bounced pitch foul (tip) ball call after someone on this board (sorry can't remember who) sent him the link to the discussion.

Evans sent an e-mail to several of the posters on this site correcting Roder's information. Roder, to his credit, polled several MLB umpires to get a well rounded review of the issue before correcting his error.

Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 27, 2006, 12:47pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Reed
Steve,
I can't resist pointing out that your quote from the 1993 J/R is entirely true and correct. It is what is meant by being awarded a base without liability to be put out. Perhaps there is some additional verbiage to justify the notion that the converse statement is true, even for B/R?
I'm not sure what you want.

I was posting this to show that J/R said that the B/R cannot overrun 1st base on a base on balls without being put in jeopardy of being tagged out. Apparently, Roder had changed his opinion on this at some point in time since 1993.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 27, 2006, 07:11pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
I'm not sure what you want.

I was posting this to show that J/R said that the B/R cannot overrun 1st base on a base on balls without being put in jeopardy of being tagged out. Apparently, Roder had changed his opinion on this at some point in time since 1993.
I also found this tidbit from the Awards chapter in the same edition. It also seems to disfavor any overrunning 1st base on bases on balls:

Chapter 7: One Base Awards
(2) A base on balls.
A batter is awarded first base when four balls are counted. Sequential runners are also awarded their advance base. The ball remains live and any runner (including the B-R) who is tagged off base after touching or passing his awarded base, is out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1