![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
The MLBUM (in this case, the 2002 edition) interprets the rule as written: NOTE: The batter-runner is not prohibited from overrunning first base on a base on balls (i.e., the batter-runner may overrun first base on a base on balls and is not in jeopardy of being put out provided he returns immediately to first base). (See Official Baseball Rules 7.08(c)(EXCEPTION), 7.08(j), and 7.10(c).) |
|
|||
Quote:
"... (2) A base on balls. .... The ball remains live and any runner who is tagged off base after touching or passing his awarded base is out. However, the batter-runner is allowed to overrun first base, provided he returns immediately to the base." So J/R in no way disagrees with MLBUM. And as far as "own spin" goes, I only know of two situations in which J/R deviates from the rules as expiated in the the PBUC manual and the MLBUM. These involve the possibility of catching bounced pitch for a third strike, and interference on a runner being struck by a batted ball. Of course, JEA, J/R, PBUC, and MLBUM all deviate significantly from OBR. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
This is what my 1993 version says: 4. A runner (including the B/R) awarded a base due to a base on balls or detached gear (live ball awards) cannot be tagged out unless such runner passes his awarded base. |
|
|||
Steve,
I can't resist pointing out that your quote from the 1993 J/R is entirely true and correct. It is what is meant by being awarded a base without liability to be put out. Perhaps there is some additional verbiage to justify the notion that the converse statement is true, even for B/R? |
|
|||
Quote:
Carl covers this in 2006 BRD, item 109. FED: may not overrun the base. If he does, he is in peril of an out whether he feints or attempts an advance. NCAA: may overrun first if he returns immediately, and does not make an attempt to go to second. OBR: Same as NCAA. (7.08j; MLBUM 5.14-Note) JEA has already been quoted here so it appears to me JEA offers the opposing viewpoint on this. Last edited by DG; Wed Dec 27, 2006 at 03:07pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Dave: This is all I find in the JEA on the matter. Professional Interpretation: Though the batter is awarded first base without liability to be put out, he does incur responsibilities: (1) He must advance to and touch the awarded base or become liable to be declared out...see 4.09(b). (2) He becomes liable to be put out if he attempts to advance after missing the awarded base. (3) He should advance to and touch his awarded base before a substitute is allowed to take his place, unless he is being replaced because of an injury or illness...see Customs and Usage. Tim. |
|
|||
Quote:
A batter who is entitled to 1st base because of "four balls" being called may not overrun or overslide 1st base. This is an award which is administered while the ball is alive and in play. He is entitled to 1st base without liability to be put out...6.08(a). His liability to be put out resumes once he touches the base. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|