Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Nov 30, 2006, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to PAT THE REF
ECAC Umpire

Hey Everyone,

Switching gears a little bit... Does anyone know how to become or is anyone here currently a East Coast Athletic Confer. Umpire? What, if any, is the evaluation process to become a ECAC official...

Thanks
Old Thu Nov 30, 2006, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member

if you go to the ECAC website, and go to the officials section, there is a form you can fill out. You'll need letters of recommendation and there is a fee (naturally). Other than that, can't tell you much, but that should get you started.
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to bobbybanaduck
i know how it works. pm me.
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member

I've been doing ECAC (women's FP) softball for a few years now and love it.

Last season, I was doing a game in north Jersey, and on the adjacent baseball field, one of the umpires was a former world-class slow-pitch crusher I hadn't seen in many years. He said he has also been officiating ECAC for a while and enjoys it.

For a Fed baseball umpire, ECAC (NCAA) rules naturally require some study. Softball rules are quite different from Fed and ASA, too (as in better).
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 09:36pm
Official Forum Member

Rumor has it the ECAC may be getting out of the baseball business. Look around for a local college umpire association. Find out how they are getting their games. Then give it a go.

D
Old Fri Dec 01, 2006, 11:48pm
Official Forum Member

Back to square one

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Man
Rumor has it the ECAC may be getting out of the baseball business. Look around for a local college umpire association. Find out how they are getting their games. Then give it a go.

D