The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Feb 05, 2006, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to PAT THE REF
Talking

Hey Everyone,

I’m Pat from NJ. I have been officiating baseball/softball for middle schools for the past five years. I finally joined an association and am taking classes to get carded in NJ for Varsity Ball.

I need some advice. Currently I have an assigner who gave me 12 games. I am looking for more JV and Freshman Softball & Baseball…

I am thinking about contacting my local Athletic Directors for work. My question is – how should I go about doing this? My resume is very plain for umpiring. Since I have been working for the same local recreational leagues

Should I call? Email? Appointment? What is the best way to get your foot in the door?

Thanks in advance for the advice

Pat
Old Sun Feb 05, 2006, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
I would suggest that if you don't want to upset your assignor you ask him for some more games. In my association our J/V and Frosh games are all assigned, so we don't do any private solicitation for games. Often the umpires with the most flexibility in their personal itenerary are the ones who get the most games.

Tim.
Old Mon Feb 06, 2006, 12:25am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by PAT THE REF
Hey Everyone,

I need some advice. Currently I have an assigner who gave me 12 games. I am looking for more JV and Freshman Softball & Baseball…

I am thinking about contacting my local Athletic Directors for work. My question is – how should I go about doing this? My resume is very plain for umpiring. Since I have been working for the same local recreational leagues

Should I call? Email? Appointment? What is the best way to get your foot in the door?