![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If you need solid proof that the experienced members of this board are giving you the correct interpretation that this is not a balk, this may help. This is the professional interpretation as written by Rick Roder who is the co-author of the Jaska/Roder Manual. The WUA now referrs all rules questions to Rick for clarification. Pitchers a) must take signs from the catcher while in contact. b) cannot habitually disengage the rubber after taking a sign, c) upon disengaging, must separate their hands. No penalty is mandated or suggested for violation of (a) through (c). Such action is simply prohibited. Tim. |
MLB, the entity that hires members of the WUA and the owners of the rules, takes it further by not just saying don't penalize it, but that it is not a balk as long as the hands are separated prior to the pitcher re-taking the rubber.
The confusion is understandable given MLB's seeming inability to get a re-write of the rules done. However, members of the rules committe have committed to get it done, piece-meal, if necessary. One member told Evans that he hope to eventually address all the mistakes that Jim had identified. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
tibear,
It's great you're getting your nose in the rulebook and trying to understand fully what it says. But, as mentioned before, there are over 200 errors in the MLB rulebook. When posters like bobjenkins and GarthB give you advice, TAKE THE MEDICINE. They know what they're talking about. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
OBR 8.01 Legal Pitching Delivery 9) In the Windup position, the pitcher’s free foot may be on the rubber, in front of the rubber, behind the rubber, or off to the side of the rubber. Quote:
Tim. |
Quote:
The rule is essentially the same. The only change is that the pitcher no longer has to keep his free foot within the 24 inch length of the pitching rubber, which was never enforced anyway. It's never been a balk for placing the free foot behind the rubber while in the windup. Tim. |
Well, since everyone here is so ademant that this shouldn't be called a balk, I guess I'm going to have to go back to our local administration and get them to look into it. As I say, around here everyone calls it a balk. I've personally called it only once or twice but other guys call this maybe a dozen times a year.
Its going to be a hard sell because its pretty obvious that the OBR rulebook says the pitcher MUST seperate his hands as he steps off the rubber. |
Quote:
1) The rule doesn't say "as" he steps off, it says "when" (meaning "after") he steps off. 2) There's no penalty specified in this comment or in this rule for failing to do so. 3) Almost all the balks are specified in 8.05. The rule in question is in 8.01 |
Quote:
2) No, the rule does not say when, so the interpretation used is "before re-engaging". 3) How can the pitcher throw to a base without first separating his hands? |
Rich,
The rules states the pitcher must drop his hands to his sides, so I guess the phrase "separate his hands" is incorrect. Around here if the pitcher steps off and throws directly to a base without dropping his hands to his side first, we call it a balk. As indicated, I guess we're going to have to re-evaluate this but I can hear everyone now, "That's not what the rulebook says and the pitcher does it to deceive the runner, so it's a balk". I'll have to try the "show me in 8.05 where it would be a balk". |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Once he steps off with the PIVOT foot, since when do I care what he does with either his other foot OR his hands [as long as he's not simulating a pitching motion]? Bob- help me out here, have I missed a memo or something? |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17pm. |