The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 16, 2006, 02:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickrego
What if he doesn't make a trip to the mound ?

What if the coach just calls time, walks over to you, and makes the position change ?

That's not considered a trip, is it ?

Ah, the subtleties of baseball...
It is never considered a trip to the mound if you remove the pitcher, even if you meet the pitcher at the mound to do it. When you remove the pitcher in OBR, the trip count starts over with the new pitcher. In FED, it does not add to the cumulative total of trips in a 7 inning game.
Yes, if the pitcher is removed it is considered a trip. Therefore after the first trip of the inning, that pitcher must pitch for the remainder of the inning or be removed from the game. He cannot stay in the game if a new pitcher is brought into the game as part of a interchanged batting order.

Also Federation rules have defensive confrences which are very different than trips.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 16, 2006, 02:23am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
I meant for the purposes of removing the pitcher. It is the same whether the coach removes the pitcher at the mound, or comes directly to the umpire to make the change. In OBR, it is the second trip, and the pitcher has to be removed no matter where it takes place.

Over 99% of charged defensive conferences in FED are the coach visiting the pitcher. Trip is just a slang word for it. I don't tell a coach, "that's two conferences." I say "trips." They know what I mean. You say potato, I say spud.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 16, 2006, 05:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by LDUB
Yes, if the pitcher is removed it is considered a trip. Therefore after the first trip of the inning, that pitcher must pitch for the remainder of the inning or be removed from the game. He cannot stay in the game if a new pitcher is brought into the game as part of a interchanged batting order.

Also Federation rules have defensive confrences which are very different than trips.
Hold on a minute!

Alan (RHP) pitches to the first batter of the inning and walks him. Manager comes out and signals for the LHP, Bruce. Bruce strikes out the next batter and the manager comes out and signals for the RHP Chuck. Chuck walks the next batter and the manager comes out and calls for RHP Dave. Dave strikes out the next batter but runs the count to 3 - 0 on the next batter. Manager comes out to talk to Dave.

Then manager has not made a trip this inning as he has changed F1's every time. He is not only legal on this trip, he can come out again and change to another F1!


**********
edited for typo on the 3 - 0 count. Thanks mattmets!
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy

Last edited by ozzy6900; Wed Aug 16, 2006 at 10:59am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 16, 2006, 06:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900
Hold on a minute!

Alan (RHP) pitches to the first batter of the inning and walks him. Manager comes out and signals for the LHP, Bruce. Bruce strikes out the next batter and the manager comes out and signals for the RHP Chuck. Chuck walks the next batter and the manager comes out and calls for RHP Dave. Dave strikes out the next batter but runs the count to 0 - 3 on the next batter. Manager comes out to talk to Dave.

Then manager has not made a trip this inning as he has changed F1's every time. He is not only legal on this trip, he can come out again and change to another F1!
If he runs the count to 0-3 I hope coach is coming out to congratulate Dave on finally recording an out!
__________________
Throwing people out of a game is like riding a bike- once you get the hang of it, it can be a lot of fun.- Ron Luciano
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 16, 2006, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900
Then manager has not made a trip this inning as he has changed F1's every time. He is not only legal on this trip, he can come out again and change to another F1!
The point of my post was that even if the current pitcher is removed without the manager leaving the dugout, it is considered the 2nd trip. The pitcher must leave the game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Road trip tomegun Basketball 2 Fri Dec 10, 2004 09:31am
trip rec's jeffb Football 12 Wed Aug 25, 2004 11:54am
Definition of a Trip aepitaz Baseball 11 Sat Jul 24, 2004 10:45pm
Unintentional Trip rocky50 Basketball 22 Fri Jan 16, 2004 02:08pm
Trip/or no trip? J_Biz Lacrosse 2 Mon May 14, 2001 08:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1