The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 26, 2006, 11:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Don't make this too hard!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky Popper
[I](9) Runner on first base, first baseman positioned in front of the runner. Batter hits a ground ball
just outside the reach of the first baseman as the first baseman dives to his right. The ball then
strikes the runner.

Question - How to define "just outside"? Is it a judgement call about whether or not the fielder has a chance to field the ball, or is that irrelevent? Also, what does "immediately behind" the fielder mean?
Remember we're talking about interfering with a batted ball here. Since the fielder has no chance to field the ball or even if he tried to field it and it then hits the runner once the ball is past F3, then the umpire simply must decide if F4 has a chance on the play.

Unless he's playing really deep in the hole toward first base usually the answer would be no and the runner would be okay.

so yes, its a judgement call by the umpire.

thanks
David
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There are no rules and those are the rules. NCAA JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Sat Feb 07, 2004 11:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1