The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 31, 2006, 03:10pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by gruberted
1. Before the inning the coach goes out to the field and positions his players and gives his pitcher a quick talk.

Would this be considered a visit?
Rut is correct, and it is the same in OBR. As long as the coach does not delay the start of the inning he can talk to the pitcher. They still only get one minute to complete the conference/warm-up pitches.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gruberted
2. Also does the pitcher have to wear two color of the same socks?
A couple of Saturdays ago, I had a Pony League game where the pitcher and catcher each had one red and one blue sock, on a team with red, white, and blue as their primary colors. I think it would have been OOO to have told them to change. Unless the opposing coach gets nit-picky with it, in which case he had better not violate one single rule the entire game.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 31, 2006, 11:29pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Unless the opposing coach gets nit-picky with it, in which case he had better not violate one single rule the entire game.
Coach, you kidding me, right?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 12:21am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG
Coach, you kidding me, right?
I wouldn't put it past some of the coaches out here. Take my game tonight for example. Working solo, bases loaded, 0 outs, can of corn to left-center. I'm lining up the catch and the tag at 3rd, and then glancing quickly to 2nd for that tag also. The run came in to score, and the throw went to 3rd, but R2 was safe there. R1 moved up to 2nd on the throw. The coach had his pitcher appeal the tag-up at 1st base.

After the game, I discovered that I was parked next to that coach, and I asked him how come he appealed first base, when I was watching the catch, the tag at 3rd, and quickly checking the tag at 2nd, and that working solo I would have no clue as to when the runner at 1st left. He said, "yeah, I know, I was just hoping maybe you saw him out of your peripheral vision."
Oooooooooooooookay.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
It amazes me that anyone really cares about color of socks. If a coach even mentioned something like that to me, I would tell him to be careful what he asks for.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 169
Had a rat try this one a few weeks ago:

R1 and R2, fly to right, I'm PU. BU goes out to get the catch, I'm watching runners. None of them even remotely come close to leaving early, I hear the rat in the dugout quickly start talking about appealing to 1B, which they do and I call safe. They look out at PU confused as to why HE didn't call it.

Apparently, they were only doing it to cause trouble since they saw his back was to the play and figured it was his call. Can't wait to have him again this weekend...I doubt he'll see the end of the game this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 01:01pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by orioles35
Had a rat try this one a few weeks ago:

R1 and R2, fly to right, I'm PU. BU goes out to get the catch, I'm watching runners. None of them even remotely come close to leaving early, I hear the rat in the dugout quickly start talking about appealing to 1B, which they do and I call safe. They look out at PU confused as to why HE didn't call it.

Apparently, they were only doing it to cause trouble since they saw his back was to the play and figured it was his call. Can't wait to have him again this weekend...I doubt he'll see the end of the game this time around.
Okay, I'm going to assume (very risky) that your partner really didn't "go out" to the outfield on this play. If he did, then he has blown his coverage. His responsibility was to line up the catch and the tag at 2nd base, and to glance at the tag up at 1st base. He should have been over close to the edge of the infield grass near the shortstop area to line up the catch and tag. Your coverage should have been to get to 3rd base for the possible advance of R2. It was, using regular mechanics, the BU call on the retouch at 1st base (lower priority than the retouch of 2nd), as well as any play on R1 at 1st or 2nd, and on R2 at 2nd.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to bobbybanaduck
Quote:
Originally Posted by orioles35

R1 and R2, fly to right, I'm PU. BU goes out to get the catch, I'm watching runners. None of them even remotely come close to leaving early, I hear the rat in the dugout quickly start talking about appealing to 1B, which they do and I call safe. They look out at PU confused as to why HE didn't call it.
i can honestly say i don't see anything right in this post. BU going out from infield in 2 man system? not good. PU calling runner safe on appeal? not good. and i assume this is a typo, "They look out at PU confused as to why HE didn't call it," and you meant to say BU. i'd look at you confused, too, if you, the PU, called anyone safe on appeal on this play.

SDSteve had it right, you, as the PU, should have been up the 3B line for the tag and advance of R2 into 3B. everything else belongs to BU.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to bobbybanaduck
Quote:
...it is the same in OBR. As long as the coach does not delay the start of the inning he can talk to the pitcher. They still only get one minute to complete the conference/warm-up pitches.

so, under this logic, you would allow the coach to go to the mound at the start of each inning and let him chat with his pitcher during warmups, provided he's out of there before delaying the start of the inning?

if you can find me an OBR passage that supoports that then i'll buy it. until then, whenever he goes to the mound, provided they haven't invited me along for an injury session, i'm charging them with a trip.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 01:43pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbybanaduck
so, under this logic, you would allow the coach to go to the mound at the start of each inning and let him chat with his pitcher during warmups, provided he's out of there before delaying the start of the inning?

if you can find me an OBR passage that supoports that then i'll buy it. until then, whenever he goes to the mound, provided they haven't invited me along for an injury session, i'm charging them with a trip.
There is nothing in OBR, JEA, J/R, MLBUM, or NAPBL manuals which confirm or deny this practice. The closest thing is that you can't make a 2nd trip while the same batter is at bat without removing the pitcher. This infers that the first trip was made while the batter was at bat, and not prior to him being announced. Batters are not considered announced until after the pitcher has completed his preparatory pitches.

I have read no language that considers a pre-inning conference to be a trip to the mound, so I allow it. If the coach delays the pitcher from completing his warm ups, I go by the one-minute rule and tell the catcher to send it down. Then if the coach squawks, I hit him with a trip and then he can have a real conference.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 465
Send a message via AIM to bobbybanaduck
i think there's no language because a trip is a trip is a trip. no matter what the circumstances are of when he goes, by going out there he has met the requirements of what defines a trip.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbybanaduck
i think there's no language because a trip is a trip is a trip. no matter what the circumstances are of when he goes, by going out there he has met the requirements of what defines a trip.
So at the end of the inning the 3rd base coach walking across the diamond towards his first base dugout, stops picks up the ball, hands it to his pitcher who has hustled out to the mound and says "Remember to keep the proper arm slot" and proceeds to the dugout.
You're charging him with a visit?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 02:39pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
JM,

Thanks for finding that, I had the BRD right in front of me for another question, and didn't even think to look there. I have to remember to use that tool when looking for pro interps.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 02:40pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
If you charge a coach a trip for that, you're getting yourself into big trouble for the rest of the game...for something that's not illegal...think of a 3rd base coach crossing the diamond into the first base dugout...he can be out there until the cather yells "2" or whatever they yell before they throw it down...be careful what you choose to enforce...especially when it's not written in the rules...not that big of a deal....let it ride man.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08
If you charge a coach a trip for that, you're getting yourself into big trouble for the rest of the game...for something that's not illegal...think of a 3rd base coach crossing the diamond into the first base dugout...he can be out there until the cather yells "2" or whatever they yell before they throw it down...be careful what you choose to enforce...especially when it's not written in the rules...not that big of a deal....let it ride man.
Of course I'm not charging a visit. It was a question to Bobby.
In his post he said

"i think there's no language because a trip is a trip is a trip. no matter what the circumstances are of when he goes, by going out there he has met the requirements of what defines a trip."

That sounds pretty black and white and I was just wonderin' if that is what he really meant.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 11:42pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
A first base coach walking by the mound to have brief talk with pitcher is not a trip. A coach coming out of the dugout should also not be a trip, as long as the pitcher gets his warmups in the alloted time.

I might add I have never seen a coach come out of the dugout to talk with the pitcher for warmups. He could do that in the dugout before the pitcher went out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coach's visit benbret Softball 5 Fri Apr 21, 2006 03:46pm
Visit by Coach to Pitcher BBCoach Baseball 8 Fri May 21, 2004 07:25am
To visit or not to visit...that is the question! whitecane12 Baseball 6 Fri Jul 04, 2003 08:57am
Visit new soccer board Ders Soccer 0 Sat Jan 26, 2002 06:26pm
Charged Visit? Ed Austin Baseball 25 Sun Oct 01, 2000 07:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1