The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 15, 2006, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 744
Question Fake tag and no retouch

Fed rules.

R1 on 1st, 1 out. R1 takes off for 2nd base on hit and run, and batter flies ball to right-center. F6 fake tags R1, who then touches 2nd base and rounds towards 3rd base. The ball is caught by F9. R1 runs back to 1st base without retouching 2nd base, but is retired at 1st base.

Dead ball now, R1 receives 2nd base because of obstruction by F6.

Now...once the ball becomes live, can the defense appeal the missed retouch of 2nd base even though R1 is now STANDING ON 2nd base? R1 did not retouch 2nd base before the ball became dead. Or does the obstruction supercede the missed retouch? Does it matter if the fake tag by F6 occurs before or after R1 has touched 2nd base?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
retouch/appeals TriggerMN Baseball 2 Tue Aug 16, 2005 02:39pm
Retouch on Lead-off? rwou812 Baseball 7 Mon May 23, 2005 08:36am
Help with retouch/no retouch Leecedar Baseball 8 Sun Mar 20, 2005 09:37pm
Fake to 3rd, Fake/Throw to 1st - No stop JimSmith Baseball 3 Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:52pm
Retouch ? Bandit Softball 2 Fri Feb 23, 2001 11:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1