![]() |
Fake tag and no retouch
Fed rules.
R1 on 1st, 1 out. R1 takes off for 2nd base on hit and run, and batter flies ball to right-center. F6 fake tags R1, who then touches 2nd base and rounds towards 3rd base. The ball is caught by F9. R1 runs back to 1st base without retouching 2nd base, but is retired at 1st base. Dead ball now, R1 receives 2nd base because of obstruction by F6. Now...once the ball becomes live, can the defense appeal the missed retouch of 2nd base even though R1 is now STANDING ON 2nd base? R1 did not retouch 2nd base before the ball became dead. Or does the obstruction supercede the missed retouch? Does it matter if the fake tag by F6 occurs before or after R1 has touched 2nd base? |
TriggerMN,
I believe that in your sitch, the "last time by" principle negates the defense's appeal of the runner's failure to touch 2B on his return to retouch 1B after the "caught" fly ball. Unless it was a "gross miss", of course. JM |
TriggerMN, You only ignore the miss of a base if you're certain the obstruction made him miss the base.
Also, the location of the runner at the time of the fake tag does matter. If he was past 2nd, he gets third. If he's before 2nd, he gets 2nd. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13pm. |