The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Passed Runner (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/26543-passed-runner.html)

mcrowder Tue May 16, 2006 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wmandino
So if I'm reading this correctly R2 can go back and touch homeplate after R3 has touched it. Also if he did not touch it and the touch is appealed R2 is out for missing the plate and R1 and R3 score.?

I don't think you're reading it correctly. He can touch whatever he wants. But his touch of home after a succeeding runner is meaningless, and he can still be appealled out for missing home. Also... R3 would only score if the appeal on R2 was not the 3rd out.

Rich Ives Tue May 16, 2006 07:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wmandino
So if I'm reading this correctly R2 can go back and touch homeplate after R3 has touched it. Also if he did not touch it and the touch is appealed R2 is out for missing the plate and R1 and R3 score.?


Do you have your runner's straight? R1 = the runner who was on 1st at thestart of the play. R2 on second and R3 on third. So the order they approach the plate is R3, R2, R1.

No, R2 can't return after R1 has touched.

7.10(b) APPROVED RULING: (1) No runner may return to touch a missed base after a following runner has scored.


If R2 is the third out, only R3's run counts. If it wasn't the third out then both runs count.

wmandino Wed May 17, 2006 03:41pm

Sorry for the confusion. Yes that is what I was trying to state. R3=runner at third R2=2nd R1-first base runner. So the answer is NO, R2 can not retouch homeplate after R1 has scored.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1