The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Passed Runner (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/26543-passed-runner.html)

blueump Mon May 15, 2006 10:05am

Passed Runner
 
First time I've ever seen this:

R1 on 1st. BR hits a long high fly ball down the first base line. It looks as if it may go foul. R1 for whatever reason goes back to first in an attempt to tag and go to second if the ball is caught. He's standing there with one foot on the bag as the BR takes a big round of first base, taking about 3 steps toward second.

The wind catches the ball, and it drops in (fair) just inside the foul lines. R1 takes off for 2nd where he arrives safely while the BR returns to 1st base.

Do we have an out for a passed runner?:cool:

BigUmp56 Mon May 15, 2006 10:13am

Absolutely. Why wouldn't you have an out for passing?

Tim.

mcrowder Mon May 15, 2006 10:28am

Yes you do. I don't understand the question.

mbyron Mon May 15, 2006 02:25pm

Maybe he wants to know which one's out.

SeattleMetroUmp Mon May 15, 2006 11:11pm

You most certainly do!!!
 
BlueUmp the batter runner is out. However, please keep in mind you do not immediately kill the play. Just allow all action to take place and once all play has ceased call time and call the batter runner out!!! Simple as that!!

Hope that helps!!!


SeattleMetroUmp

mcrowder Tue May 16, 2006 08:34am

No you don't wait for the play to stop. You rule BR out right then. Why would you wait... the play could continue and your failure to rule the out when it happened could cause defense to have to play on BR unnecessarily.

NIump50 Tue May 16, 2006 09:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
No you don't wait for the play to stop. You rule BR out right then. Why would you wait... the play could continue and your failure to rule the out when it happened could cause defense to have to play on BR unnecessarily.

If you kill the play immediately you deny the defense the opportunity to make a play on the preceding runner or other runners.
I'd verbalize and indicate which runner is out and let play continue.

blueump Tue May 16, 2006 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NIump50
If you kill the play immediately you deny the defense the opportunity to make a play on the preceding runner or other runners.
I'd verbalize and indicate which runner is out and let play continue.


Say then the defense throws the ball to second. Do you still have a force here or could the runner return to first base?

In the case I described, there was a moment when both runners were both standing on first base at the same time. The BR rounded first and took a few steps toward second. Then returned to the bag when the ball dropped in fair.

If I immediately called the BR for passing R1, that would have effectively removed the force. But isn't this a delayed dead ball situation? The BR is called out after all plays are over, and the force remains. If the ball had reached 2nd before R1, he would be out on the force and the BR would be called out for passing R1.

Is this correct?

Rich Ives Tue May 16, 2006 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by blueump
Say then the defense throws the ball to second. Do you still have a force here or could the runner return to first base?

In the case I described, there was a moment when both runners were both standing on first base at the same time. The BR rounded first and took a few steps toward second. Then returned to the bag when the ball dropped in fair.

If I immediately called the BR for passing R1, that would have effectively removed the force. But isn't this a delayed dead ball situation? The BR is called out after all plays are over, and the force remains. If the ball had reached 2nd before R1, he would be out on the force and the BR would be called out for passing R1.

Is this correct?


The BR is immediately out - removing the force.

It isn't any kind of dead ball situation.

mrumpire11 Tue May 16, 2006 10:17am

point at the runner in violation and declare him out. this is a live ball situation. once the following runner is declared out, the force is removed. this would also be a case of a time play, if there are 2 out and runners scoring on the play.

wmandino Tue May 16, 2006 03:55pm

What IF....
 
Baseloaded no outs BR hits a shot in the left field corner. It clears the bases and he gets a triple. R1,R2,and R3 all score, after R3 scores R2 realizes he missed home plate and touches it. Is R2 out for "passing" a runner, and what if the defensive coach sees this and appeals the play on R2. Just curious.

BigUmp56 Tue May 16, 2006 04:00pm

R2 isn't out for passing, but he would be called out on appeal. He cannot correct his error after R3 scored.


Tim.

Rich Ives Tue May 16, 2006 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wmandino
Baseloaded no outs BR hits a shot in the left field corner. It clears the bases and he gets a triple. R1,R2,and R3 all score, after R3 scores R2 realizes he missed home plate and touches it. Is R2 out for "passing" a runner, and what if the defensive coach sees this and appeals the play on R2. Just curious.

Not a pass. 1) you have to physically pass the runner. 2) Read 7.12

wmandino Tue May 16, 2006 04:08pm

So if I'm reading this correctly R2 can go back and touch homeplate after R3 has touched it. Also if he did not touch it and the touch is appealed R2 is out for missing the plate and R1 and R3 score.?

mcrowder Tue May 16, 2006 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NIump50
If you kill the play immediately you deny the defense the opportunity to make a play on the preceding runner or other runners.
I'd verbalize and indicate which runner is out and let play continue.

Now I truly have no idea what you're talking about. When did I say kill the play?

You're 2nd sentence is almost exactly what I said - call the batter-runner out and keep playing. Are you agreeing with me or disagreeing? I was disagreeing with Seattle's statement that you wait until play is over and THEN rule BR out. No - call him out when he's out, just like any other play.

mcrowder Tue May 16, 2006 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wmandino
So if I'm reading this correctly R2 can go back and touch homeplate after R3 has touched it. Also if he did not touch it and the touch is appealed R2 is out for missing the plate and R1 and R3 score.?

I don't think you're reading it correctly. He can touch whatever he wants. But his touch of home after a succeeding runner is meaningless, and he can still be appealled out for missing home. Also... R3 would only score if the appeal on R2 was not the 3rd out.

Rich Ives Tue May 16, 2006 07:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wmandino
So if I'm reading this correctly R2 can go back and touch homeplate after R3 has touched it. Also if he did not touch it and the touch is appealed R2 is out for missing the plate and R1 and R3 score.?


Do you have your runner's straight? R1 = the runner who was on 1st at thestart of the play. R2 on second and R3 on third. So the order they approach the plate is R3, R2, R1.

No, R2 can't return after R1 has touched.

7.10(b) APPROVED RULING: (1) No runner may return to touch a missed base after a following runner has scored.


If R2 is the third out, only R3's run counts. If it wasn't the third out then both runs count.

wmandino Wed May 17, 2006 03:41pm

Sorry for the confusion. Yes that is what I was trying to state. R3=runner at third R2=2nd R1-first base runner. So the answer is NO, R2 can not retouch homeplate after R1 has scored.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1