![]() |
|
|
|||
OP is not getting his answer - but that is because the umpire did not make a proper call. We don't know how to score this, since it shouldn't have happened. But ... since it did happen, I suppose the only way to treat this would be the same way you might treat it if ODB did actually come to bat, and then interfere with a play before his AB was over. F2 gets a putout. ODB gets an AB.
Now back to the sitch... there is no rule by which you could call ODB out. Even though Rich's definitions are correct and make more accurate the post before his, the ODB is still not a batter in this sitch until the previous play has come to completion. He is merely a member of the offensive team that is legally on the field. You can't have an out for interference unless someone interferes WITH A PLAY. There is no play here (yet). The ball is dead when he picks it up, obviously, so no play can eventually occur. Had BR rounded first on his way to 2nd prior to this ball being picked up, I can see a case for INT on an offensive player --- but it would be the RUNNER who would be called out. If there was an additional runner for which a play was possible (say someone else trying to advance on the PB), we could have INT - but again, it's the RUNNER who is out. ODB still comes to bat after either. On this play (assuming no other advancing or in-jeopardy runners), I have dead-ball and nothing else. BR to first. ODB to the plate.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
"With bases loaded a pitch eludes the catcher and rolls toward the on-deck batter. The runners each advance one base as the catcher pursues the ball. However, the on-deck batter reaches down and pick up the live ball before the catcher can get to it: interference without a play being made The ball is dead and the runners are restricted to their one-base award."
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I can't believe I'm responding to this... but here goes.
1) By what rule are you calling interference on ODB? Please provide the text of the rule(s) involved. Interference is always with a PLAY. There's no PLAY here. 2) Why do you feel that you should ignore the caseplay, which is EXACTLY like this in J/R? (It's posted above if you don't have JR). You ask me "Why call a dead ball if your not going to call interference. " I call it a dead ball because the ball has become in possession of the offense. It WAS live, but it's not anymore. I call it dead because it's dead. You state this as if any dead ball must be interference. Of course that's false. A dead ball can be dead for any number of reasons. Then you say, "I suppose if the on deck hitter pitches the ball over the catcher's head by accident or it lodges in his equipment you still have nothing." Why in the world would it matter what ODB does with this ball after picking it up? The instant he does, it's dead. He could throw it to CF for all I care - it doesn't make the ball back live. Then, "Don't call it one time and not the next. You will have everybody confused if it happens in the same game." When did I say I would do anything other than ALWAYS calling the ball dead if a member of the offense picked it up? Then, "Offense in no way, shape, or form shall touch or handle a ball purposely when it is LIVE. The only time I want ODB to touch the ball is when the ball gets past catcher and NO ONE is on base and to retrieve foul balls. PERIOD." What does this have to do with interference? Nothing at all. Of course offense should not touch a live ball - if they do, it's a dead ball. But absent a PLAY, it's nothing else.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
|
|
|||
The difference is the ball is live when it goes to the backstop, so if the catcher does not go get it the batter will just keep advancing. But it's dead when the on deck batter picks it up. If batter has not reached 1B yet he is still entitled to it.
The problem with calling an out when the on deck batter picks up the loose ball is there is no basis to make this call. You are making things up, and if your mission is to get out of Dodge quicker you can be gone in half an hour if you just keep making up your own rules. This is not about speeding up the game, it's about getting calls right. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Scoring question | Rift | Track & Field | 4 | Mon Jul 25, 2005 09:14am |
Scoring question | Clyde | Baseball | 4 | Tue May 10, 2005 07:52pm |
scoring question | Chicken | Softball | 4 | Mon Jun 21, 2004 01:11am |
scoring question | hunter57 | Baseball | 7 | Mon Mar 15, 2004 02:38pm |
Scoring Question. | stowelaw | Baseball | 7 | Mon Sep 23, 2002 01:38pm |