![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Dave (et al),
It is my understanding that in all rules codes other than FED, a pitcher who tries the "fake to 3B & make a move to 1B" must break contact with the rubber on the feint to 3B or he has balked. However, under FED rules only, a pitcher is allowed to keep his foot in contact with the rubber on the feint to 3B and then pivot and step & throw to 1B and it is NOT a balk. So, under FED, if the F1 maintains contact & throws the ball out of play on the move to 1B, runners are awarded one base. If the F1 drags his foot off the rubber & then throws out of play on the throw to 1B, runner(s) are awarded 2 bases. Now I have no idea why the FED folks have chosen to institute this daring "innovation" in the rules - personally, I wonder if the folks responsible for some of the FED rulings have ever actually seen a baseball game - but, it's their rules & I suppose they can make them whatever they want. JM Last edited by UmpJM; Mon Mar 27, 2006 at 04:03pm. |
|
|||
|
According the MLBUM, the pitcher has to break contact before throwing to first, and according to Evans, before feinting to third.
![]() If J/R has something different I'm going to scream!!!
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I believe JEA & the MLBUM say exactly the same thing. Namely, that during the feint to 3B and prior to initiating the move to 1B, the F1 must break contact with the rubber or he is properly balked on the continuing move to 1B. Same in NCAA. FED's "a little different". See the BRD #362. JM |
|
|||
|
CoachJM,
Here is the confusing part, as the MLBUM says (my emphasis): "NOTE: With runners on first and third, if a pitcher fakes a throw to third base and then throws the ball to first base, arm motion is not required in the fake to third, although a legal step is required. Also, in the fake to third base, the pitcher must break contact with the rubber before throwing to first base. If the ball is thrown out of play in the throw to first, the pitcher would be considered an infielder for the purpose of the award." JEA says: ". . .in his feint to 3rd, he must break contact from the rubber with his pivot foot." See, it is a little different. Which causes me to wonder which is technically correct.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Steve,
I believe you are misreading the MLBUM text you bolded as saying 3B rather than 1B. Mlbum says: Quote:
Quote:
JM |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Most Unusual Move You Ever Saw | JCrow | Basketball | 12 | Tue Jan 03, 2006 08:31am |
| Move Up? | Hartsy | Basketball | 30 | Fri Jul 29, 2005 08:54pm |
| I said move! | ChrisSportsFan | Basketball | 11 | Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:55am |
| Move up? | refjef40 | Softball | 7 | Tue Apr 01, 2003 05:38pm |
| Inappropiate Move by Ref? | lee7545 | Basketball | 5 | Sun Feb 03, 2002 07:30pm |