The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 17, 2006, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally posted by officialtony
Man in blue.
I never thought about this but I want to ask to be sure. In your unassisted double play attempt scenario, if F6 steps on 2nd and throws the ball into the dead ball area, and the B/R is already past 1st base, does the B/R get 3rd base because it is the second play by an infielder?
Even though he only threw the ball once?
I have not seen this but I want to be sure I make the right call if I do.
Yes, he only threw the ball once, but stepping on the bag was his first play. Award is from TOT, so, as has already been stated (twice - my aplogies for the redundancy), if BR has passed first, then he gets 3B.

In this sitch BR gets two bases from the last one occupied at the time the ball is thrown, if he had not yet reached first (which in the real world is more likely) then he gets 2B. Actually works out the same in this sitch regardless of stepping on the bag or not, if BR has not reached 1B.

The thing about this is that it's not the number of throws, it's the number of plays, or attempted plays.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1