The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 24, 2006, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Please confirm (or deny) that my interpetation is correct on a couple of plays.

OBR.

PLAY #1: One out, Abel on 3B, off with the pitch on a suicide squeeze. F3 charges when he sees Baker square to bunt. Baker bunts and pops the ball down the 1B line. F3, still running hard, reaches across the 1B line into Baker's path to catch the ball. As Abel crosses the plate, Baker runs into F3's arm about 25 feet from home, preventing F3 from making the catch.

I call the obvious interference, but I believe that it was accidental.

I would call Baker out and send Abel back to 3B (even though, with the catch, F3 would have had an easy out at 3B on the appeal).

Correct?

(I don't do Fed, but is the rule the same?)

PLAY #2: Same situation, except that after Baker and F3 collide and I call interference, F3 recovers and makes the catch anyway. F3 then runs to the plate, tags Abel, and appeals to me that Abel left 3B too soon.

The ball was dead the moment I called interference. I would have to disallow the appeal and send Abel back to 3B.

Right?
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1