The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Just to be sure (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/25186-just-sure.html)

greymule Fri Feb 24, 2006 03:43pm

Please confirm (or deny) that my interpetation is correct on a couple of plays.

OBR.

PLAY #1: One out, Abel on 3B, off with the pitch on a suicide squeeze. F3 charges when he sees Baker square to bunt. Baker bunts and pops the ball down the 1B line. F3, still running hard, reaches across the 1B line into Baker's path to catch the ball. As Abel crosses the plate, Baker runs into F3's arm about 25 feet from home, preventing F3 from making the catch.

I call the obvious interference, but I believe that it was accidental.

I would call Baker out and send Abel back to 3B (even though, with the catch, F3 would have had an easy out at 3B on the appeal).

Correct?

(I don't do Fed, but is the rule the same?)

PLAY #2: Same situation, except that after Baker and F3 collide and I call interference, F3 recovers and makes the catch anyway. F3 then runs to the plate, tags Abel, and appeals to me that Abel left 3B too soon.

The ball was dead the moment I called interference. I would have to disallow the appeal and send Abel back to 3B.

Right?

bob jenkins Fri Feb 24, 2006 04:17pm


OBR: BR out, R3 returns
NCAA: BR and R3 out
FED: BR and R3 out


greymule Fri Feb 24, 2006 04:36pm

Thanks, Bob. I was right about OBR. Interesting that Fed and NCAA do not follow OBR in this.


mbyron Sun Feb 26, 2006 09:21am

For FED, see 8.4.2E. The sitch is not identical, but it's close. You have to judge that a double play was likely (possible? probable?); otherwise, send R3 back.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1