The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 05:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Insatty, I sincerely suggest you rethink this statement in reference to the tagging of first base for an out. "The fielder's dropping of the ball without voluntary release should be considered conclusive proof that he did not hold the ball securely in his glove".

Consider this sitch. Ground ball to F6, F6 makes the routine play, throw is true to 1st, the BR is out by 3 steps. F3 receives throw from F6, and has secure possession of the ball in his glove while in contact with the base. BR, knowing he is out, makes the turn to head toward his bench on the third baseline. While F3 is attempting to remove the ball from his glove to throw it back to F1, BR inadvertantly knocks F3 in the glove and dislodges the ball. What do you have? Out/Safe?

I suspect that according to J/R you must call the runner safe. And I suspect that if you actually make this call there will be disputes.

Bob
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1