The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 31, 2001, 07:11am
Gee Gee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally posted by Jim Cunningham
The situation: Bases loaded, 1 out, Batter hits an infield fly; Junior High School level. The 3rd baserunner,confused, does not get back to third base before the infield gets the ball to F5 on 3rd base! Question: Is R3 out for not retouching in time or does the defense have to make a tag play to put him out?
Any case book quotes that could clear this up for me would be grately appreciated. And BTW, I was the base ump in this sit. in the C position
----------------------------------------------
If you are talking about relaxed and unrelaxed action it doesn't apply here. On this play you don't need a verbal appeal to retire the runner. Tag the person or the base.

I don't do FED rules but I think the same thing would apply in FED as it is continuous action. However, if that runner scored without retaging and the play ended, the umpire would call him out in FED, in OBR you'd need an appeal. G.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1