View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 30, 2001, 09:07pm
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Jim Cunningham
The situation: Bases loaded, 1 out, Batter hits an infield fly; Junior High School level. The 3rd baserunner,confused, does not get back to third base before the infield gets the ball to F5 on 3rd base! Question: Is R3 out for not retouching in time or does the defense have to make a tag play to put him out?
Any case book quotes that could clear this up for me would be grately appreciated. And BTW, I was the base ump in this sit. in the C position
Jim,
I assume the catch was made?
Then the runner left early, yes? Didn't tag up?
Calling "Infield Fly" is only a courtesy to the runner, no other special rule for leaving early.

When I was in LL majors, a Jim Cunnigham here in Michigan was the fastest pitcher I had ever wished I could see.

mick
Reply With Quote