Quote:
Originally posted by Jim Cunningham
The situation: Bases loaded, 1 out, Batter hits an infield fly; Junior High School level. The 3rd baserunner,confused, does not get back to third base before the infield gets the ball to F5 on 3rd base! Question: Is R3 out for not retouching in time or does the defense have to make a tag play to put him out?
Any case book quotes that could clear this up for me would be grately appreciated. And BTW, I was the base ump in this sit. in the C position
|
----------------------------------------------
If you are talking about relaxed and unrelaxed action it doesn't apply here. On this play you don't need a verbal appeal to retire the runner. Tag the person or the base.
I don't do FED rules but I think the same thing would apply in FED as it is continuous action. However, if that runner scored without retaging and the play ended, the umpire would call him out in FED, in OBR you'd need an appeal. G.