The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 03, 2001, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 711
Send a message via ICQ to Jim Porter Send a message via Yahoo to Jim Porter
Quote:
Originally posted by Gee
I'll also stick with what I said concerning the dropped ball. You can't call a balk on that until the pitcher is in a legal pitching position. That only comes when he is ready to pitch.

He is not ready to pitch until he is set. Further, I said when you drop the ball during the stretch it is NOTHING, not a ball, NOTHING. 8.01(d) only applies AFTER the pitcher is set and not during preliminary motions as in stretching. If you don't buy that we'll have to A2d on it. i.e. Agree to disagree. G
But, Gee, the dropped ball situation would be a balk under 8.05(k). Whether he's in a stretch or a set doesn't matter. If he drops the ball while touching the plate, it is a balk with runners on base.

[Edited by Jim Porter on Jun 4th, 2001 at 02:25 AM]
__________________
Jim Porter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1