The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 15, 2001, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 252
Look at Fed 8.2.1 situation C page 51 of the case book and Fed 8-2-5. I believe that the obstructed runner needs to touch all the bases or he can be called out. If he is on or beyond a succeeding base at the time the ball becomes dead, he can't return to the base he missed. However, in the situation that you described, I personally would be hesitant to call the batter out even though the rules say you should. I think that you could make a better argument that the obstruction caused the runner to miss the bag. But this argument doesn't appear to be in the Fed rule book. I would definately honor the obstruction because common sense dictates that that is the right thing to do.

Greg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1