The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 10, 2006, 06:42pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
FED: A batter-runner may legally retreat toward the plate to avoid a tag unless he touches or runs beyond the plate, when he will be called out. The ball remains alive. 8-1-1a.

Official Interpretation from Rumble: When a batter is retreating toward the plate, the umpire will always call obstruction if B1 "collides" with the catcher (National Federation News #17, 3/94).

NCAA: Same as FED (7-11p AR 3) EXCEPT: The rule does not mention the status of the ball, and no official interpretation exists to deal with obstruction.

OBR: Point not covered in Rule Book. See above post by umpyre007 for the PBUC interpretation.

Also: Official Interpretation from PBUC manual: When a batter is retreating toward the plate, the umpire rules obstruction only when he judges it is intentional (4.31 - 1).
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1