The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   I want your call on this. (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/2210-i-want-your-call.html)

JRutledge Sat Apr 21, 2001 05:01pm

I had this situation in a varsity baseball game today. I just want to see what you guys would have ruled.

High School game (NF rules), the batter pops up the ball to the first base line. Both P and 1B come up to make the possible catch. We have 2 outs, and while the P and 1B move up to make the catch, the BR puts a block, much like in football towards the 1st Baseman. The BR came slightly inside the foul line to make the contact. The BR made no attempt to avoid the contact, and the 1B did not see the runner at all. About the same time, the P catches the ball for the 3rd out. What is your call?

I will tell you what I did after your responses. BTW, I was the U1 in an 3 umpire game. For those that do not know, U1 is on the first baseline with no one on like this situation.

Thanks in advance

David B Sat Apr 21, 2001 05:41pm

Well...
 
Well I don't know about you guys, but in a three man crew the PU has the fly balls and should have had this call all the way. (Of course that may have been the sitch here also, it just wasn't clear)

It sounds like to me BR made a definite attempt to interfere thus he is out. <i>You cannot interfere with a fielder attempting to make the play on a batted ball.</i>

Even though F1 and F3 may both be moving and we can only protect one, in this situation either could have had the catch. In addition, F1 is always taught to let the other infielders make the play if possible, so I would protect F3 initially.

Also, if he made a definite football tackle, I would probably send him packing. Malicious contact.

Thanks
David

jicecone Sat Apr 21, 2001 06:56pm

Could'nt agree with DaviDB more. No matter what position you were in or who had the call. From your discription given, it is hard to believe that any other call could be made than what DaviDB has stated.

senior Sun Apr 22, 2001 09:35pm

By Jove, I think you've got it!
 
I second the motion!

Tim C Sun Apr 22, 2001 09:54pm

And from Oregon
 
David has nailed this one.

Any other call would be horrible.

Great job David.

GarthB Mon Apr 23, 2001 12:11am

Another vote for David
 
This is PU's call all the way. Hopefully U1 didn't poach the call.

GB

JRutledge Mon Apr 23, 2001 12:48am

Why?
 
For those of you that say this is the PU's call all the way, give me a NF reference that says that. Because according to the NF any umpire can call interference or obstruction that sees it. And that is specificially on page 27, under #10. So I have to disagree that the BU cannot make that call.

JRutledge Mon Apr 23, 2001 12:50am

My Ruling on the play
 
I ruled malicious contact by the BR and ejected him from the game.


Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
I had this situation in a varsity baseball game today. I just want to see what you guys would have ruled.

High School game (NF rules), the batter pops up the ball to the first base line. Both P and 1B come up to make the possible catch. We have 2 outs, and while the P and 1B move up to make the catch, the BR puts a block, much like in football towards the 1st Baseman. The BR came slightly inside the foul line to make the contact. The BR made no attempt to avoid the contact, and the 1B did not see the runner at all. About the same time, the P catches the ball for the 3rd out. What is your call?

I will tell you what I did after your responses. BTW, I was the U1 in an 3 umpire game. For those that do not know, U1 is on the first baseline with no one on like this situation.

Thanks in advance


PeteBooth Mon Apr 23, 2001 06:54am

<i> Originally posted by JRutledge </i>

<b> I had this situation in a varsity baseball game today. I just want to see what you guys would have ruled.

High School game (NF rules), the batter pops up the ball to the first base line. Both P and 1B come up to make the possible catch. We have 2 outs, and while the P and 1B move up to make the catch, the BR puts a block, much like in football towards the 1st Baseman. The BR came slightly inside the foul line to make the contact. The BR made no attempt to avoid the contact, and the 1B did not see the runner at all. About the same time, the P catches the ball for the 3rd out. What is your call? </b>

The answer to this is right from the FED rule book

FED rule 2-21-1b

Offensive interference is an act (physical or verbal) by the team at bat:

b. when a runner creates <b> Malicious Contact </b> with <b> any fielder, </b> with or without the ball, in or out of the baseline.

<b> the BR puts a block, much like in football towards the 1st Baseman. </b>

Sounds pretty clear cut to me. Violation of 2-21-1b - We have interference and an ejection.

Pete Booth


David B Mon Apr 23, 2001 08:15am

Re: Why?
 
I don't think anyone is saying BU <b> cannot </b> make the call.

However, according to NF mechanics, PU has routine flyball in the infield, thus he is covering the catch, and PU also has fair/foul so he is covering fair/foul.

BU is moving in case of a possible play toward second or a throw to first if the ball is dropped.

He may see and call the play as interference; however, since PU is covering the play, PU should have the call.

Thanks
David


Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
For those of you that say this is the PU's call all the way, give me a NF reference that says that. Because according to the NF any umpire can call interference or obstruction that sees it. And that is specificially on page 27, under #10. So I have to disagree that the BU cannot make that call.

JRutledge Mon Apr 23, 2001 09:24am

Re: Not what you said
 
Quote:

Originally posted by David B
This is PU's call all the way. Hopefully U1 didn't poach the call.
That is not what you said. Either the BU can make the call or the BU cannot. Now it is the PU's call first, but that never is a rule that the BU can never make an interference call. It does not say that anywhere in the NF Umpires Manual.



Quote:

Originally posted by David B
I don't think anyone is saying BU <b> cannot </b> make the call.

However, according to NF mechanics, PU has routine flyball in the infield, thus he is covering the catch, and PU also has fair/foul so he is covering fair/foul.

BU is moving in case of a possible play toward second or a throw to first if the ball is dropped.

He may see and call the play as interference; however, since PU is covering the play, PU should have the call.

Thanks
David

And also, how do you have interference and the ball is already caught?

Tim C Mon Apr 23, 2001 09:27am

Rut,
 
We are simply talking about base responsibility here, Bubba.

It would be over officious for the U1 to get involved, with out request, on this play.

JRutledge Mon Apr 23, 2001 02:26pm

NF Umpire's Manual.
 
If that is over officious, then you need to read the NF Umpire's Manual on page 27. Then you tell me if the NF (which this game was under) thinks that is the case. You be the judge, I am just passing along the information.

Now that might be what you do in other codes, and that is fine, but that does not apply to every level. NF has rules and mechanics that are not under other rulebooks. Just the truth.

Peace


Quote:

Originally posted by Tim C
We are simply talking about base responsibility here, Bubba.

It would be over officious for the U1 to get involved, with out request, on this play.


badbamaump Mon Apr 23, 2001 02:58pm

Rutledge....

Other states don't necessarily use the FED mechanics manual...Down in Bama we don't. On this play, the PU should be the one to make the catch and interference calls...Makes more sense to me than U1 doing it.

You asked how we would do it, we're telling ya.

Will

Tim C Mon Apr 23, 2001 05:46pm

OK, Rut . . .
 
Time to hit you with this . . . in 1999 and 2000 I scored 100% on FED Test II. I say this ONLY to assure you that I kinda understand FED rules.

I also for the past two years have been the trainer for our 1st and 2nd year umpires. I say that ONLY to let you know that I have a little experience in TEACHING FED.

As in Alabama, Portland, OR uses the Fed Manual ONLY as a reference guide. This is one reason we are allowed to wear pleated pants.

Now Rut, you can ask for and quote citations from now till ever. You can use this device to "show" how smart you are.

As a group we simply offered to answer your question. And that we did. I am not here to argue, I am not here to debate.

I am simply here to learn.

Be rest assured, I will not trouble you by answering ANY of your posts again. Life goes on son . . . with you or without you.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1