The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 08, 2005, 09:48pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Davies
R3, 2 out, R3 stealing on a 3-2 pitch.

R3 scores before ball is swung on and missed for strike 3.

My initial response was 4.09a, run can't score. But, that rule refers specifically to Batter Runner. Other references point to strike 3 NOT caught.

My thought now is that it becomes a Time Play, run scores. I have all the reference manuals and none of them say that the run doesn't score.

You folks wanna straighten me out here? I know that if I go drink a couple of beers, this dilemma will become quite clear.

Dave
******
There cannot be a run if a runner has touched (or passed) home base, but there is related action wherein the third out is the batter-runner before touching (or passing) first base, or the batter-runner on an appeal for missing first, or when his batted ball is caught.

Based on this I would say a batter who struck out for the third out has not reached first base before the runner scored.

And R3 is either fearless, mis-directed, or clueless. I vote for misdirected by a stupid clueless coach.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1