The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 29, 2005, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
If you have judged that BR is only to be protected to first, and he does make the attempt of second, and is caught in a rundown and tagged out going back to first, is he still to be afforded protection back to first?

In ASA softball, he would be sent back to 1B, even if he's out by a ridiculous margin at 2B. In Fed baseball, he would get 2B automatically on the initial trip.

But in OBR, this situation and its variations are problematic to me. If we don't think Abel originally had a chance for 2B, and therefore we protect him only back to 1B on the initial trip, then his break for 2B starts a new play. Consequently, we also have to call Abel out if after the ball gets away he runs a couple of steps toward 2B but then sees that he won't make it, and tries to return to 1B but is tagged. His protection back to 1B ended when he made a move toward 2B.

It the "interruption of the flow of the play" that is really at issue, I think.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1