The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2005, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 744
In Fed rules, the pitcher must be on the rubber for this to be a balk. He can be on the mound, but off the rubber, go to his mouth, and wipe it off without penalty.

That said, if he was on the rubber and went to his mouth:

A) It is a balk if runners are on base. All runners move up one base, and the count remains the same.

B) With nobody on base, one ball will be added to the count. If the count is 3-0, 3-1, or 3-2 at the time, the batter is awarded 1st base.


This is always a big topic in our American Legion pre-games with coaches. Around here they play mostly high school rules until the tournament, then switch to American League rules, where this is a balk if you are on any part of the mound.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1