The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 01, 2005, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 156
Situation:
1 out, R2.

Pitcher engages the rubber working from the stretch. This pitcher has a fairly slow move from the stretch to the set position. R2 gets a large preliminary lead. As soon as pitcher starts to come set, runner breaks for third. F1 does not finish coming set (hands were still a few inches apart and there had been no discernable stop) and throws to to third and retires the runner. I was so shocked at seeing this (first time i've ever seen a runner try to steal a base before the pitcher has even come set), that I didn't balk it. The longer I had to think about this though (it was last night), the more I think I should have balked him because the rules say that once he begins to come set, he must come to the set position without interruption and in one continuous motion. So, I'm pretty sure I kicked not calling this one. Am I right?

-Josh
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1