![]() |
|
|||
My fields must be configured wrong. The fields I work don't have any bases in center field at all... so I'm having trouble imagining an unoccupied base out there.
Rule: It is a balk when... "8.05(d) The pitcher, while touching his plate, throws, or feints a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play." Note the actual words used in the rule. It says you cannot throw to an unoccupied base. From Matthew F: "does a lob to the outfield constitute a balk since the pitcher is obviously not throwing to an occupied base?" The rule does NOT say you have to throw to an occupied base. There is a difference. You cannot throw to an unoccupied base. A throw (rainbow or bullet or otherwise) to F8 is not a throw to an unoccupied base. [Edited by mcrowder on Jun 23rd, 2005 at 02:10 PM]
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|