The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 07, 2005, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally posted by livtrav
Quick question.

Right hand pitcher from the set position initiates gather move to pick R1 off second base. When he spins runner breaks to third. He fakes to second stays in contact with the rubber and then steps to and throws to third.

That is not a balk. Comments
I have a balk. The step to 3B was not a "direct" step to third, because it was preceded by a step to 2B without breaking contact with the rubber.

Had the step to 2B resulted in a step off of the rubber, then the move to 3B would be legal.

This is no different than the famous "3rd to 1st move," in which, in OBR, the pitcher is required to break contact on the step to 3B in order to then be able to feint or throw to 1B without balking. If he does not break contact, then the move to 1B - with or withoutu a throw - is a balk, by professional interpretation.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1