The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 26, 2005, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Question

During a game I was coaching tonight, one of the opposing team's pitchers had a delivery that I thought was a balk. After waching it twice in a row, I requested time and spoke to the home plate umpire about my belief. The umpires found me unpersuasive. At one point the opposing manager joined the conversation and, just as I was certain that his pitcher was balking, he was certain that his pitcher was perfectly legal. I dropped the discussion but told the other coach that I would post this question and send him the responses that I got regardless of what they said.

So, is the following a balk (please answer for both FED and OBR).

13/14 yr. old boys, 80 ft. diamond. RHP is pitching from Set with runners on base. After taking the rubber and getting his signs he comes to a legal set position with his hands together and comes to a complete stop. He then begins his delivery and starts to raise his left leg to balance. As his left leg reaches balance (thigh more or less parallel to the ground) he hangs his leg and comes to a complete stop. Momentarily, no part of his body is moving. He then completes his delivery of the pitch to the better.

I suggested that this was a balk because the pitcher was failing to meet the requirement to complete his delivery "without interruption". The opposing manager suggested that since this was how his pitcher normally did it, it was part of his "continuous motion" and therefore fine.

Everyone's judgement agreed that the pitcher came to a complete stop in the middle of his delivery - mine, the opposing manager's, and both umpires.

I was alone in the group in suggesting that this was a balk.

If you do feel this is a balk, I would also appreciate it
if you would comment on whether you would you consider this a "technical" balk that you might "overlook" at lower levels of play, an "elephant" balk that you would call at any level of play, or something in-between.

What say you? If there's anything I need to clarify, feel free to ask.

JM
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1