The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 02, 2005, 10:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 94
I have a question for all you official scorers out there. It occurred in a Red Sox-Yankees game earlier this season. Tell me how you'd score this play: Johnny Damon is the runner on first base. There's a full count on the batter. Damon attempts to steal second base on the next pitch. The pitch is ball four. Damon doesn't realize it. He aggressively slides into second base--and overslides the base. He is tagged out by shortstop Derek Jeter. Damon is out, but how is the play scored? Is it a caught stealing? I don't think so, because Damon safely reached second (albeit momentarily) and he was entitled to the base because the batter drew a walk. Does it go into the scorebook as a pickoff, maybe? I'm curious. Does anyone know the answer?

[Edited by John Robertson on Jun 3rd, 2005 at 04:37 PM]
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1