The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 23, 2005, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sheffield Lake, Ohio
Posts: 340
Trying to visualize this, I can only see how the batter might have interfered with his own runner trying to reach the plate. If he is squared to bunt, he must be pretty close to blocking the plate from the 3rd base side. His own runner had to slide around him ( it sounds like ) and therefore may have hindered his own runner to the plate.( Not to imply that this is any violation that should be called. ) On the other hand, B1 may also have interfered with the catcher trying to make his play at the sliding R3. Having said all that, the PU was right on top of the call and if he says safe with no interference, then we have a correct call based on his judgment. The BU has no business stepping up UNLESS the PU has called to him for an opinion. Without a request for help, BU goes to A and we play ball.
__________________
Tony Smerk
OHSAA Certified
Class 1 Official
Sheffield Lake, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1