The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 19, 2005, 09:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
JEA is out of print and not readily available. If it were, you'd find:

One out, runners on first and second. The batter bunts the ball and drops his bat. The ball rolls into the bat lying on the ground in fair territory. The catcher fields the ball and fires it to third for the put-out. Does this play stand?
RULING: The runner is declared out and the play stands since there was no intent to interfere and the ball rolled into the bat.



J/R says in 13-3-A-3-b that if the ball strikes a bat that is lying on the ground it is not interference.

To me at least, a bat that is moving is NOT "lying on the ground" and the JEA and J/R is consistent with the MLBUM in that the bat must be stationary.


I can't find the play in the BRD. Either I looked in the wrong place OR the rule is the same in all codes so it is not included.

Do you really think JEA or J/R would attempt to "overrule" the MLBUM?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1