![]() |
|
|
|||
In a recent discussion, a batter offered at and struck a pitched ball sending it high in front of home plate. The batter then released the bat which rolled into fair territory, rolled and then contacted the ball rolling on the ground. I believe umpire at the game called the batter out for twice striking at the ball.
The discussion, as always, led to a slew this is right no, this is right ad infinitum! I gave up because, frankly, I was getting ticked off at the attacks and the demands to find the related rule. Well, I finally had the time, so I pulled out the 2005 BRD and looked up the situation. I will reference the rules you can look the printed rules up for yourselves. I will not reference the comments as I do not have permission to reproduce the text in its entirety 102 BATTER-RUNNER: BATTED BALL HITS: BAT TWICE IN FAIR TERRITORY FED: If the batter deliberately hits a fair batted ball in fair or foul territory, the ball is dead and the batter is out. (5-1-1b; 8-4-1d) {See Section 101 which refers to a batted ball struck twice while the batter is still in the batters box - no relation to our situation} NCAA: If the batter drops the bat and the ball accidentally hits the bat again in fair territory, the ball remains alive (7:11m) OBR: Same as NCAA. (6.05h) The major FED difference is that it is including foul territory to the rule. But the interpretations all agree that in order to call anything on the batter, the umpire must be convinced that the act was intentional. Also be advised, I could not find anything in the PBUC for this action (thats big boy ball so REAL umpires wouldnt even be having this discussion). I do not have the MLBUM. A batter hitting a ball, then releasing (not throwing) the bat, cannot be held responsible for the action of the released bat. Now, to those who disagree, lets see your proof!
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
I'll try to completely avoid anything that looks like an attack, and my apologies for making you feel like you were under attack in that thread - it was not my intent.
I believe the key difference here is the difference between a moving bat hitting a ball, and a ball hitting a stationary bat. I've always been taught (and this is backed up by the word STATIONARY in the MLBUM) that the rule you quote applies to a moving ball hitting a stationary bat. If a moving ball (in all 3 codes, plus the two softball codes I work - ASA and FED) hits a discarded stationary bat, then, barring intent by the batter, you indeed have "play on..". However, in all 3 codes (and in softball), if a moving bat hits the ball (regardless of whether the ball was stationary or not), you have an out regardless of intent. Feel free to educate me. |
|
|||
Makes sense also
Quote:
It also makes common sense for those of us who like to apply the KISS theory to our umpiring. If you think it through most of the rules make sense as far as interpreting them. Its the way they are written that causes many umpires to question IMO. After 25 years plus I still find that if I keep it simple when I umpire and when I teach others it usually works very well on the diamond. Thanks David |
|
|||
Quote:
But please educate me and all the others that don't seem to have access to your information. You state all 3 codes refer to a "moving bat". I cannot find any reference to this. Please share your information especially if it is from the MLBUM.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
MLBUM Section 6.13
If the batter-runner drops the bat and the ball rolls against the stationary bat in fair territory and, in the umpire's judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, the ball is alive and in play, the same as if it had not hit the bat. If after hitting or bunting a fair ball, the batter's bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory, the batter is out and the ball is dead. (See Official Baseball Rule 6.05(h).)
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
I am not going to go against MLBUM ruling as far as MLB goes. However, according to knowlegeable people, the MLBUM is available to Major League Umpires, and those who know Major League Umpires who have given them old copies. In a protest situation, the league may or may not have access to this manual.
Does J/R, BRD, or JEA clearly address whether the bat is stationary or not? These manuals are commercially available to the masses, and therefore are more readily accessible to those who would be deciding a protest situation regarding this rule. As such, I am looking at intent more so than whether or not the bat is moving. However, there is the concept mentioned above somewhere about "Ball hits bat=nothing, bat hits ball = Out". This is a HTBT call, use best judgement, and just make the call and live with it. Be an umpire. |
|
|||
JEA is out of print and not readily available. If it were, you'd find:
One out, runners on first and second. The batter bunts the ball and drops his bat. The ball rolls into the bat lying on the ground in fair territory. The catcher fields the ball and fires it to third for the put-out. Does this play stand? RULING: The runner is declared out and the play stands since there was no intent to interfere and the ball rolled into the bat. J/R says in 13-3-A-3-b that if the ball strikes a bat that is lying on the ground it is not interference. To me at least, a bat that is moving is NOT "lying on the ground" and the JEA and J/R is consistent with the MLBUM in that the bat must be stationary. I can't find the play in the BRD. Either I looked in the wrong place OR the rule is the same in all codes so it is not included. Do you really think JEA or J/R would attempt to "overrule" the MLBUM?
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
You guys are giving examples of the situation Ozzy agrees with - that if a ball hits a stationary bat the play remains alive. He does not argue that point. Rather, he argues the other half of 6.05(h) - he believes if a moving bat hits a batted ball in fair territory, the ball is still live and the batter runner is not out. His position is contradicted by plain old black letter rule:
6.05(h) A batter is out when after hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. and this caseplay in the JEA: One out...runner on second base. The batter bunts the ball in front of home plate. The batter drops his bat and it accidentally hits the ball. The catcher fields the ball and retires the runner advancing to third. The batter is safe at first. What's your ruling? RULING: The runner returns to second. The batter is out. The ball becomes dead immediately when a thrown bat hits a fair ball a second time. More black-letter rule: 7.09(b) It is interference by a batter or a runner when after hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. This play from the JEA: Situations: One out...runners on first and second. The batter bunts the ball in fair territory. He throws the bat down and it touches the bunted ball a second time; however, the catcher is able to field the ball. He throws to second to retire the runner from first. ..and...the relay to first beats the batter-runner. RULING: The ball is declared dead the moment the bat strikes the ball the second time. The batter is out and all runners return. No double play. and this one: One out...runner on second base. The batter bunts the ball in front of home plate. He drops the bat and it strikes the ball in fair territory. The catcher fields the ball and retires the runner attempting to reach third. Does this play stand? RULING: When the bat struck the ball the second time...the ball became dead and the batter is declared out. The runner must return to second. The previously cited MLBUM ruling. This statement in the PBUC Manual: 4.16 BATTED BALL STRIKES HELMET OR BAT If after hitting or bunting a fair ball, the batter's bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory, the batter is out and the ball is dead. and finally, this Jaksa/Roder citation: It is interference by a batter-runner if: (iii) his bat strikes his batted ball a second time over fair territory. However, it is not interference if; (a) his batted ball bounces and immediately comes up and hits the bat a second time while the batter is still in the batter's box (foul ball), or (b) his bat is lying stationary on fair territory and his batted ball rolls up against it, or (c) his broken bat strikes his batted ball, or hinders a fielder. Perhaps one or more of these citations will persuade Ozzy that if a batter's moving bat hits a ball in fair territory a second time, the batter is out and there is no requirement that the interference be intentional. Perhaps not. |
|
|||
Quote:
This is a great example of how to answer a question. Dave didn't just sit there and say "it's in the MLBUM", a book that most of us are not privy to. He sited material that most of us have. Yes, I missed it and now I am more educated. Yes, I'm a stubborn old fart and I admit it. Thanks again, Dave!
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
batter hits ball twice
I'm interested in your take on the comment below...
"We all seen the youth batter trying to bunt or taking the lazy swing and contacting the ball twice." ...... Is that an automatic out and dead ball?? thanks., Quote:
|
|
|||
holy blow the dust off of a thread...wow...everybody has access to the PBUC manual. not sure when I last saw one updated...but you can buy one off of Evans' site.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
If a batted ball makes contact with the bat, while bat still in batter's hands while batter is still in the box, then the ball is FOUL. I have seen this several times on bunts that go straight down and come back up and contact the bat over fair ground and have my share of discussions with defensive coaches who want an out in this case. Hasn't happened yet.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|