The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 14, 2005, 10:40pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by Rackster
Sorry guys,getting confused here....PU thought pitcher had ball and on pitching plate (shame on PU for being fooled?Obviously this is what causes the problem.)and called "Play".Isn't it now a live ball? Runner takes lead and is tagged out.Offensive team claims it is an illegal play,but PU lets call stand.That was his ruling,i'm saying if ball is made live,even mistakenly,its a balk.I understand what everyone is saying about "can't have a balk on a dead ball",but how should this situation be ruled.Does the PU just say "My mistake,runner is not out,pitcher take the ball and lets play!"?Is there a rule for a dead ball mistakenly being made live?
Rackster,
It is confusing ... in Little League.
1. PU calling "Play!" Makes the ball live by 3.12 and 5.02.
2. 5.11 says PU was not supposed to call "Play!" without ball in pitcher's hand.
3. 8.05 does not require a live ball.

No rule allows the fact that the pitcher did not have to ball cancel the fact that the PU called "Play!"

If I got deceived by the players in that situation, I would do what TEE and DG told me to do, "Get the ball to the pitcher and let's play."

He did it wrong and there was no one to tell him it was wrong.
mick












Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1