The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 14, 2005, 07:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally posted by CoachJM
Bob J.,

I'm still trying to learn the FED rules (actually, the OBR rules, too - I'm just a little "further along" there). You got the "gist" of my comment regarding FED vs. OBR in reference to scyguy's sitch.

But there's still something puzzling to me. As I understand it, under FED rules, "verbal appeals" are "properly constituted" and may occur whether or not the ball is "in play".

So, in your FED #1 response (i.e. the umpire did judge "obstruction") if, after the umpire called "time" and indicated the award of 2B to R1, he would still be properly called out (on appeal) if the defense made a "verbal appeal" of his failure to touch 2B in returning to "retouch" 1B while the ball was "in play" if the verbal appeal was made any time prior to the runner "completing" the award by actually touching 2B.

Is that correct?

JM
No, that's not correct. Baserunning awards must be finished before there can be a dead-ball verbal appeal. See "Appeal Procedures #3"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1