The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 30, 2001, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Not quite the same play

Not quite the same play. In this play the BR is out if he doesn't advance because it is strike three on the batter. He's not required to advance. , it's his choice.

If he does advance (and it also adds that within a reasonable time) then he may be put out or he may be safe.

If he does not advance (within a reasonable time) it's simply a strike out.

This is not an appeal play.

Thanks
David



[QUOTE]Originally posted by Bfair
Quote:
Originally posted by Carl Childress
Quote:
Buster: The batter-runner failing to go to first is not an infraction.
Buster, if you believe that the batter runner is not required to advance to first base, then how do you explain Fed Casebook Play 8.1.1b:

"F2 drops the third strike. B1 starts toward the dugout and F2 does not throw to first. B1 then makes a quick dash to first.
Ruling: If F2 does not throw to first, he risks failure to put out B1. However, "B1 should be declared out for failure to attempt to reach first within a reasonable time if he does not reach the base before the time of the next pitch, he reaches his bench, or a half inning is ended because the infielders have left the diamond. (8-4-1l)."


__________________________________________________ ________


[Edited by Bfair on Mar 30th, 2001 at 02:05 AM]
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1