The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2001, 11:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by rex
Thank you Warren!

Ya done brought it all together for me and ya don’t know what ya did.

It’s not 7.10. You said “ending play”. It’s rule 4.09(b).

I know this may be putting it to simply, but a game ending play also ends the inning. Therefore it would stand to reason that on a hit that ends xxxxx. The runner has got to touch first or you disallow the run but ya don’t have to have an appeal.

A friend of mine read me the JEA (over the phone) and it jives. Those of you that have the JEA check it out. It’s all there but you just have to think of ending the inning not the game. The OBR (as I ounce heard) is a finite set of rules for a game with infinite possibilities. They can’t write a rule for each situation.

rex
rex:

That's a good try, but you don't get the cigarette. 4.09(b) deals only with an awarded base that may end the game. The whole purpose of 4.09 and PENALTY was to require players to advance after the winning run. It had become a custom for the batter-runner to simply go directly to the clubhouse. The penalty -- to my knowledge -- has never been invoked.

Why? Umpires simply wait around until the batter-runner returns from the dugout and touches first.

Remember: It's an advance on an award forcing in R3: catcher's interference without a batted ball, balk, base on balls, hit by pitch.

BTW: rex writes:
    I know this may be putting it to simply, but a game ending play also ends the inning. Therefore it would stand to reason that on a hit that ends xxxxx. The runner has got to touch first or you disallow the run but ya don’t have to have an appeal.
That's wrong, you know: An award to a B-R that forces in R3 CANNOT end a half inning unless it is the LAST half inning. If it isn't, we just bring up the next batter, and he gets to hit.

Now, read the AR in the first comment after 4.09(b) PENALTY:
    Approved Ruling: No run shall score during a play in which the third out is made by the batter-runner before he touches first base.
Now, the PBUC insists that should read "fourth out." (grin)

Understand this: It's their book, and they are entitled to do with it what they will. I support that right, and I just hope I'm at a game where I'm in charge sometime when the play comes up.

Won't that be fun!

[Edited by Carl Childress on Mar 27th, 2001 at 10:58 PM]
__________________
Papa C
My website
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1