The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 11, 2005, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally posted by tiger49
I balked it because the step was directed at the 2nd baseman more than 2nd. I guess you could say it wasn't a balk to second but a balk to the 2nd baseman.
Professional instruction is that if the pitcher steps more towards the base being thrown or feinted to than any other base, then he has fulfilled the requirement for stepping "directly to" the base. In a feint or throw to 2B, he has a 90 foot window that goes from the midway point between 2B and 3B, to the midway point between 2B and 1B, and if he steps and feints or throws within that window, then he's legal.

Neither FED nor NCAA have a rule or an interpretation that would contradict this professional instruction.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1