The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 06, 2005, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
largeone59,

In reverse order of your questions:

1. No, this should not have been "no call". F6 Obstructed the runner and Obstruction is the correct call.

2. Under FED, an award of 3B (since the obstructed runner had already reached/passed 2B) is minimum and mandatory. Could award home in extreme cases.

3. Under OBR, it depends. This sounds like Type B obstruction in that no play was being made on the runner at the time he was obstructed. It depends on the umpire's judgement of what base the runner "would have" reached absent the obstruction. Possibilities are: leae him at 2B, award 3B, or, in the extreme case, award home. You'd kind of have to see it to make the proper judgement & it's possible that two different umpires might make different awards on an identical play.

JM
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1