![]() |
|
|||
The key to the FED ruling is exactly in the text quoted by BFair early in this thread. In OBR a fourth out by non-appeal is implied by the rules and made clear by the J/R and PBUC rulings. "Fourth" outs can be attained on both the BR at first or by a force out.
But lets look at the FED rule 9-1-1: EXCEPTIONS: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows: a. by the batter-runner before he touches first base; or d. when a third out is declared during a play in which an umpire observed a base-running infraction resulting in a force-out (this out takes precedence if enforcement of it would negate a score); or The FED rules allow for a "fourth" out in (d) but not (a). The batter runner can never be forced out, thus he can never be called for a fourth out. Unless there is a separate, different rule considering "fourth" outs (or the rule above is just plain wrong), QED. P-Sz |
Bookmarks |
|
|