The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 20, 2001, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 18
JEA says.....

Official Notes - Case Book - Comments: If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone, it is a "ball." If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter swings at such a pitch after two strikes, the ball cannot be caught, for the purposes of Rule 6.05(c) and 6.09(b). If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.

Seems kind of surprising to me.... What the heck was he doing in the strike zone and not attempting to swing? Sounds like he was trying to get hit and therefore I would have ruled as you did. Option B. Goes to show how much we know ;-) Guess you just had to be there!
__________________
Buster
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1