![]() |
|
|||
OBR 6.08(b) The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when
He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched. OBR 6.06(c) He interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter's box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher's play at home base. Ok here's the sitch: r1 2 outs - r1 stealing on the pitch F1 delivers to B1 (ball in flight not a ball that strikes the ground first). B1 makes no attempt to get out of the way and the ball hits him - out of the strike zone. Since, B1 did not make an attempt to get out of the way, he is in effect purposely and intentionally being hit with the ball. My question? can we rule that B1 intentionally interfered with F2's ability to throw out r1, hence call out r1 to end the inning? or is it simply dead ball - ball on batter return r1 back to first? B1 (out of the corner of his eye), might think that r1 didn't get a good jump and B1 can kill 2 birds with 1 stone . By purposely getting hit with the ball - there's no chance for F2 to throw out r1. Also, B1 might bate the PU in giving him first thereby having r1 and r2. Your comments as always Thanks Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
Bookmarks |
|
|