The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 12, 2005, 06:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally posted by bwbuddy
Bases loaded, 1 out. Popup to F6, IFF is called, catch is made. R2 had wandered off of the bag, and tries to get back. F4 receives throw with foot on bag prior to R2's return, but ump rules the runner safe since he was not tagged. He said that batter would have been out regardless of whether popup was caught, so R2 had to be tagged off base.
The umpire was wrong. An Infield Fly doesn't remove the runner's responsibility to touch the base after the ball is caught (touched) and it doesn't remove the defense's right to appeal the runner's mistake.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1