The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 08, 2005, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 335
left foot on foul line running toward first, throw hits him in middle of back. It was obviously not a good throw, but is that a consideration?

However, if BR's left foot is completely in fair territory while he is running toward first and within 45 feet of 1st, is he out no matter how bad a throw it is? If not, then where is the exception in 8-4-1g?

Maybe the throw does matter, but all I can find is 8-4-2g says "A fielder is not protected, except from intentional contact if he misplays the ball and has to move from his original location ... but this does not seem to apply.

My gut tells me that the throw must have some degree of success into order to call interference.

Now if I look at this rule and judge that the catcher misplays the ball by making a bad throw then maybe this will work. Help

[Edited by scyguy on Apr 8th, 2005 at 01:55 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1