![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
2-29-3:A force play is a play in which a runner ... The batter is not a runner until he reaches 1st base. Once he stops being the batter, he becomes the batter-runner, a special critter. ...loses his right to occupy the base he occupies ... the batter has no "right to occupy" home; and, indeed, never "occupies" home at all. ...and is forced to advance because the batter becomes a batter runner. Now, how can the Batter be "forced to advance because the batter becomes a batter-runner"? Kind of a tautology, yes? Batter is forced .. because he's forced .. by his becoming a BR. AIN'T NO FORCE ON BR @ 1st. Not that it makes a bit of difference, since in all but the rareset TWP, you can pretend you don't know this and officiate the play like it WAS a "force". You can even SAY that BR is forced at 1st, and only umpires will know that you are being ignorant; and most of them won't care. Of course, when the TWP actually happens in front of you, you'll blow the ruling; but, again, only umpires will know. Now, PLEASE, can we stop having folk constantly posting "what rule says that BR isn't forced?" PLLEEAASSSSEEEEEE?????? [Edited by cbfoulds on Mar 4th, 2005 at 06:37 PM] |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|